November 28, 2011

CAPE Awards Presented; APAC Chair Gets Award of Merit

APAC Chair Michael Moss was presented an Award of Merit by Chancellor Paula Allen-Meares.

AMONG THOSE receiving awards at the Employee Recognition Awards Program Nov. 2 were the four Chancellor’s Academic Professional Excellence (CAPE) recipients. The CAPE Subcommittee, which is part of APAC, was established by the Office of the Chancellor to accept nominations for the CAPE Awards and to recommend awardees to the Chancellor, and had recommended this year’s winners.

“APAC THEREFORE plays a crucial role in the CAPE Awards process,” said CAPE Subcommittee Chair William S. Bike. “This award is for APs only, and those receiving it can be proud that they were recognized after a rigorous process in which the subcommittee worked closely with the Office of the Chancellor. Clearly, Chancellor Paula Allen-Meares recognizes the importance of the work of APs in keeping UIC a top-quality University.”

THIS YEAR’S CAPE Award recipients were Ann Kathleen Barnds, Assistant to the Director, College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs; Rhea M. Begeman, Administrative Director, Assistant to the Head, Department of Emergency Medicine; Marilyn Foster Kirk, Associate Vice Chancellor for Development; and William J. Susinka, Executive Assistant to the Provost.

ESTABLISHED IN 1988, the CAPE Award recognizes the demonstrated excellence of Academic Professional staff, encourages their professional development, and indicates UIC’s regard for APs’ contributions.

ALSO AT the employee recognition event, Michael Moss, Chair of APAC, received an Award of Merit. This campus-wide honor recognizes outstanding Academic Professionals and support staff for sustained excellence in performance and commitment to their job. Moss is Assistant Director, Cost and Analysis, Grants and Contracts, Office of Business and Financial Services.

No comments:

Post a Comment