April 25, 2014

Stephanie Whitaker to Represent APs in Chancellor’s Search

Stephanie Whitaker will represent APs in the search for a new Chancellor.
STEPHANIE WHITAKER, MPA, Research Program Coordinator in the Department of Political Science, has been named the Academic Professional representative on the Chancellor’s Search Advisory Committee. The committee will choose a successor to Chancellor Paula Allen-Meares, who will step down next year.

“I AM really honored to be selected to serve in this capacity to represent the Academic Professional community on the Chancellor’s Search Committee,” Whitaker said. “Being a 20-plus year AP employee, I believe I share many of the concerns and issues that affect this constituency.  

“DURING MY years of service with the Chancellor’s Committee on the Status of Blacks (CCSB), our AP sub-committee has had strong ties and membership with the Academic Professional Advisory Committee (APAC),” Whitaker continued. “As this search committee works through the process to identify new campus leadership, I hope to be able to impress upon the candidates the voice of Academic Professionals and the important service we provide for the UIC Campus.”

WHITAKER HAS worked for the Department of Political Science the past 12 of her nearly 21 years on campus. Her responsibilities within the department have included overseeing the ongoing procedures, priorities, and organizational structure for faculty research, grants, and programs; managing the day-to-day undergraduate student programs and processes; creating and implementing department development initiatives; and procurement and financial transaction management.

SHE RECEIVED her undergraduate degree in Political Science and her Master in Public Administration from UIC.

WHITAKER FORMERLY was Special Assistant to the Associate Chancellor for Development at UIC, and in addition to her current role, has served the campus community on the CCSB, which she previously Co-chaired; the Provost’s Diversity Advisory Council (DAC); the Liberal Arts and Sciences (LAS) Diversity Committee; the UIC Black Alumni Advisory Council (BAAC); and the Illinois Committee on Black Concerns in Higher Education (ICBCHE). She has received the UIC Award of Merit, the Chancellor’s Academic Professional Excellence Award, and the LGBTQ Ally Award.

No comments:

Post a Comment